Cyrus Raven

Judicial System: Implementation Guide

Dear Eclipse Community, 

With the recent pop up of threads talking about the police and criminal meta on the server and advocating for some form of judicial system I thought I would attempt to outline some of the important key aspects to keep in mind if such a system were to be implemented. 

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer if you think some aspects need to be corrected or the wording needs to be changed then feel free to leave a comment! This guide is based on my recollection of how other servers have implemented a judicial system and several other suggestions posted on the forums (Any section that is taken from another player's suggestion will be highlighted in yellow.

image.png.f87b6f07d2eb1a11d54d2105952ad64a.png

Introducing the San Andreas Department of Justice (SADJ), a branch of government that interprets state and federal law and adjudicates disputes. The SADJ not only is in charge of adjudicating disputes between parties but is also in charge of providing the citizens of Los Santos with a public defender. 

Moreover, the SADJ also oversees and administers the bar examination, a test that all practicing lawyers are required to take before they are allowed to practice law in the city of Los Santos. 

The SADJ Hierarchy and Roles

Attorney General 

Deputy Attorney General 

Solicitor General

Chief Justice 

Deputy Chief Justice

Justices

Public Defender 

How will the SADJ play a role on the server ?

The role of the SADJ is as follows:

1. To prosecute and set up legal cases against individuals, groups or entities in Los Santos, alongside the Los Santos Police Department and the San Andreas State Department;
  2. Adjudicate proceedings between two parties. Either for criminal or civil cases between two individual parties or against the government of Los Santos, including any government agencies (LSPD, SADOC, SASD, etc...);