Bala

Base Jail/Prison Fines Amount on Wealth.

As a cop in the server, I've put away my fair share of criminals into jail or prison and I can't help but think on occasion, it's a little bit like double jeopardy.
Not only are they going to a place with less role-play opportunity, they are also taking a financial hit when they do it as well.

While this might not be an issue for our better situated criminals who already have quite a lot of money behind them, it can really hurt those criminals that are just getting started.

For example, if I've been playing here a while and I have say $500,000 in the bank and I get hit with a Felony Evading charge, I'm paying out 1% of my bank. 
If I've just started and I have scraped together $50,000 in the bank and I get hit with the same charge, I'm paying out 10% of my bank.

Which one of those players is more clued up on our criminal system and which one of those players is going to feel the impact more?

As a cop, my goal is stop people getting away with committing crimes, not stop them from wanting to attempt them altogether.
Crime is a currency for our law enforcement factions and arguably more important to us than the money we get paid and we rely on it for our factions.

My idea is a simple one, instead of a fixed amount for fines on jail, modify it by a similar system that we use to tax people's salary
For example, if someone is in the highest tax bracket, you charge them the standard fine amount on imprisonment but if they are in the lower brackets, you discount it accordingly.
If someone has 35% tax for example, they pay $5,000 for Felony Evading. If they are a new player, they pay $2,500. The other tax brackets would be reductions from the standard amount.

I'm not advocating for change in the fines as fine prices are an IC issue, but adding a script modifier for them based on a player's circumstances would make even a small difference to a lot of people on the server.

• Upvote 1

3 minutes ago, Xoza said: