givejoshamosin

Portable Toolkits

I know something similar has been suggested before, but now that the vehicles take a lot more damage, I've spent more time sitting here tabbed out waiting for a mechanic to come fix it than actually roleplaying or doing anything else (maybe I'm a shit driver).

Adding a toolkit, that doesn't increase the durability to 1000, instead maybe adding 150 or 200 per toolkit used to the vehicles HP, so that they can make their way to a mechanics would be much better for the server as people could spend more time Roleplaying, also more money coming out pockets and out of the economy (ignoring what store owners make on profits).

This also gives the chance for people who don't own a car to actually repair it slightly if they are renting it or taking it to a chop shop.

Edited by givejoshamosin
  • Like 1
  • Upvote 6

-1 with sympathy.

The issue with repair kits is that they would remove the necessity for mechanics and take away RP opportunities for them. Even if the limited HP kits like you've suggested were implemented, I fear they'd be a very slippery slope to people pushing for a full-recovery option as well. The core issue right now is the fact that roadside divisions at mechanic shops are dead due to both tow trucks and flatbeds being broken. This leads us to be hesitant taking any requests because we never know if we're just gonna be stuck in a /b-fest telling someone to call an admin because we scriptly can't help. I have two alternate solutions that might be deserving of their own suggestions though:

1. Let mechanics repair vehicles no matter their health state until roadside vehicles are fixed (currently we can only fix it roadside if it has 100+ HP).

2. Give players the option to call Mors on their phone and just total their vehicle (i.e. despawn it and send it to Mors), letting them move on with their RP and not sit around waiting to get their car moved.

Curious about people thoughts on these options.

• NAY 1